jump to navigation

epiphany stars January 14, 2008

Posted by abi in life, ministry.
trackback
was celebrated last Sunday, Jan. 6th. At my church they have a neat tradition of actually giving out “epiphany stars”. These stars are simply a laminated stars with different words written on them. These words are supposed to be something to think about – journey with – throughout the year and see how God uses them in your life. Then on epiphany Sunday, whoever wants to can share about their journey with their stars from the previous year before we get new ones. There are always really interesting stories about how God spoke to people in different ways through the word that was on their star. My star last year was “power”. I didn’t have any amazing story of anything God did through that word….but I kept it all year up on my mirror in my bedroom and was reminded that it’s not by my power that I can do anything, but by God’s power. This year I got the word “Attitude” in parentheses underneath of it they had put “(positive)”. I am sure I will need to remind myself to have a positive attitude many times throughout this coming year!

Powered by ScribeFire.

Comments»

1. Sean+ Lotz - December 13, 2009

I rather like this idea. Thanks for mentioning it. I would be inclined to include among the words:
Love, Faith, Hope, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Gentleness, Faithfulness, Self-control;
but also Death, Disappointment, Sadness, Freedom, Bondage, … and probably some others.


Leave a Reply

