jump to navigation

technology that I’m thankful for October 2, 2007

Posted by abi in just for fun, life, reviews.
trackback

So I’m currently loving 2 new technology items that have recently become a part of my life.   The first one was brought into my life through unfortunate circumstances.   Just another example of how God works things out for our good.  After my car accident in June, I was able to use the insurance money I recieved to pay off my totaled car, buy a used SUV from my father, and have a little $ left over to buy something I have long wanted and desparately needed.  I bought a great little GPS for my car.  His name is Jason (no, really – he told me so when I turned him on!)  and I am in love.  He gets me everywhere – even in mixed up, crazy places like the planned communities of Columbia!  He also has all sorts of great features like millions of restaurants, gas stations, cultural places, parks, schools….just about everything one would ever need he can find.  And my siblings and I also use him for entertainment purposes as we have discovered the fun of geocaching.  Below are a few pics from when Katie, Patrick, Andrew, and I went to find our first cache one Saturday a few weeks ago.

Here is a pic of my brothers and I trying to figure out how to use Jason to find the cache… 

and here we all are, excited after finding it!  So much geeky fun!

Another new toy is an ebay special….I have joined the ranks of busy people everywhere and am now the owner of a palm pda.  I got a model that is just barely out of date and is not wifi or anything – but it works for what I need it to do.  I am able to use it to keep up with all my scheduling better, contact lists are now not only on my phone, and it can store photos, games (Scrabble!).  I’ve even recently uploaded a Bible and some Bible search/dictionary resources so that I’ll have all that with me anywhere.  And I can track nutritional info through one of the programs.  It’s great!  And a great price – $40.00.  Gotta love ebay! 

Another intresting part of all that, was that when I got the palm, it wasn’t completely cleared…so I had to spend a little bit of time clearing off some of the previous owner’s stuff.  In doing that, I can across a few entries that were labeled “youth group”.  So when this guy emailed me to make sure I had gotten the palm ok, I asked him if he was a youth pastor or something.  He actually was!  I thought it was a pretty interesting coincidence, and we’ve actually chatted and emailed a few times about youth ministry stuff.  

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

