jump to navigation

surviving my first retreat… April 24, 2007

Posted by abi in ministry.
trackback

me and my youth group at RVROur youth group went on retreat last weekend to a local retreat center “ranch”.  It was an amazing weekend all around – the weather was gorgeous and in the 70s-80s the whole time.  I’ve been hearing reports back from the youth that this was the best retreat ever, so that is good to hear.  And I really think that some of them had some good times of thinking about God and worshiping Him in ways that they don’t normally get to.   

It was a ton of work to prepare for the retreat – but I really did love it.  I was in charge of everything all weekend – I know, pretty crazy!  I had some great adult chaperones who were helping out too – couldn’t have done it without them.  And the youth in the group were a lot of fun – they put up with all my crazy activities and at least pretended to be excited about stuff. 

Our theme was Survivor – “How to be a SURVIVOR in a messed up world.”  Which ended up being very much of a God thing with the VA Tech shootings that happened last week – we were able to talk about that and the fact that God didn’t intend for things like that to happen – He is crying with us – our sin has messed this world up.  And we spent a good while praying for the students at VA Tech.  I had the youth memorize Phil. 3:12-14 (theme verse) with crazy hand motions and made it a challenge for the survivor teams, so we all knew it by the end of the weekend.  And I did 4 talks:
1) Survivor Intro – How our life is like those of the contestants on Survivor TV show and how the verse (Phil. 3:12-14) fits in.
2) Messed up – Sin and how it messed up everything
3) Lifeboat Savior – Our need for a Savior and how He saves us
4) Survivors need each other – How we were created to be in community and encourage each other.

As the activity with the third talk, we did the somewhat controversial lifeboat exercise (where I gave them slips of paper with different people on them – a short description of their personalities, occupation and then they had to choose which of those would get on a lifeboat and which would drown – I only let them choose 8 out of 16 people to get on the lifeboat) and it was really interesting.  Both teams independently chose the same people to get on the boats – even when there were some tough calls of who was more “deserving”.  Mostly it ended up being the women and children – those who had a future to look forward to or the doctor who could help them all.  I threw in some crazy names just for fun – Bill Gates, Brittany Spears, and our pastor – but none of them made it on the boat.  I was surprised that the pastor didn’t make it, but one team had a really good reason – they said that he sacrificially gave up his spot for everyone else and wanted to be there to pray with people in their last hours.  I can’t wait to tell our pastor about that.  They got the point – that God doesn’t go around and pick like that – whoever deserves it or who is most popular or has the most money.  God saves anyone who accepts His Son and the free gift He offers – all we have to do is get on the lifeboat.  I gave the youth some personal devotional time after that talk and some of them really did use it and spend some good time with God.  A few even came up to me and talked to me about it afterwards.  It was very neat, and I just pray that God was and is speaking to them.  Then they planned and led a worship service on Sunday morning which was great, because each one of them was involved. 

Love those kids and really am so thankful I have the privilege of working with them.  I can’t wait until I can do this full-time….

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

