jump to navigation

public vs. private meditation April 6, 2007

Posted by abi in life, ministry.
trackback

Last night for Maunday Thursday, I went to Grace and experienced their time of reflection and meditation.  They had stations set up beautifully with a cross in the middle, a foot washing space, communion, and a wailing wall.   It was nicely done and very emergant.  But I was left with the realization that I didn’t spend very much time in meditation because there were too many other people there.  I think I get more out of something like that if I really have the time and ability to do it completely alone rather than in a large (probably 50 or so people were there at the time I was) group setting.  I don’t really think that its feeling uncomfortable or anything – I may have in the past – but now I really don’t care what others think of me or how I’m praying, worshipping or whatever – I just wanted to be alone with God and wasn’t.  I think some of the other girls in my small group enjoyed it though which was good.  We set aside time to do it if anyone wanted to before group and then went back to someone’s apt. who was close to the church for our study.  We finished reading the Bible in 90 days!  Yay!  I feel like I could’ve done a better job at it, there were definately days that I didn’t read and then had to catch up like mad for the next few days.   But all in all, it was a good expereince. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

