jump to navigation

what am I? April 3, 2007

Posted by abi in life.
trackback

So anyone who knows me, knows that I’m a theology nut. And most people know that I have explored, been a part of, or at least visited many different denominations of churches. When I saw a couple of quizzes on theological worldview and denominational preferences, I thought that it could be interesting to see what they say I am.

You are an evangelical in the Wesleyan tradition. You believe that God’s grace enables you to choose to believe in him, even though you yourself are totally depraved. The gift of the Holy Spirit gives you assurance of your salvation, and he also enables you to live the life of obedience to which God has called us. You are influenced heavly by John Wesley and the Methodists.

Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
86%
Fundamentalist
68%
Neo orthodox
68%
Reformed Evangelical
61%
Emergent/Postmodern
57%
Classical Liberal
57%
Modern Liberal
46%
Charismatic/Pentecostal
39%
Roman Catholic
32%

What’s your theological worldview?

that one is kind of interesting and may be somewhat accurate. The next one however, I’m not sure about. I think it just more shows what denominations I’ve had more exposure to and not necessarily the theology side of it.

Here’s the results of my (so-called) denominational preferences:

1. Assemblies of God (my childhood roots pull through)
2. Free Will Baptist ( ? )
3. Methodist/Wesleyan Church (worshipped there for a year)
4. Church of Christ (College thing…..long story)
5. Mennonite Brethren (one of the pastor-boys I dated was Brethren)
6. Presbyterian Church USA (working/attending currently)
7. Reformed Baptist
8. Seventh-Day Adventist (an uncle who is)
9. Southern Baptist (my grandmother is)
10. Episopal/Anglican Church
11. Evangelical Lutheran Church (other pastor-boy)

So yeah, this doesn’t exactly tell me a lot – except that I’ve been involved with a lot of traditions/denominations. But I do have a good grounding on where I stand theologically, so I do know what I believe, but respect many of the different traditions and pray as Christ did – for unity.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

